The Black Crowes

The Black Crowes
Warpaint – Live
Eagle Records
4.5 out of 5 stars

When The Black Crowes released their last album Warpaint — the band’s first release in seven years — I nearly cried while giving it only a three-star review. It should have been better.

But now, a year later, the band has released a two-disc live version of the album and the result is a 180-degree shift. Live, these songs have grown from ho-hum studio tracks to deep, full, rich songs that show The Black Crowes once again properly using their tagline as

“The world’s most rock and roll, rock and roll band.”

In addition to featuring Warpaint in its entirety, the release also throws in some classic Crowes, such as “Bad Luck Blue Eyes Goodbye,” a great Crowes song that never made it on an album — “Darling of the Underground Press” — and some previously unreleased covers, such as the Stone’s classic “Torn and Frayed.”

The Crowes may have missed the mark with their first studio release in seven years, but this live version is a testament to their live prowess.

In late June, the band also released a live DVD version, which captures the sold-out Los Angeles concerts the album was culled from.

— Brian F. Johnson

Did you like this? Share it:

« Back to Home Page

Latest Marquee Magazine Stories:

  • PHOTOS: The Infamous Stringdusters – Viva Lyons, Bohn Park 09/13/2014
  • PHOTOS: St. Vincent – Denver Botanic Gardens 09/06/2014
  • PHOTOS: The Growlers – hi-dive 09/06/2014
  • PHOTOS: The Oh Hellos/Blake Brown and the American Dust Choir 08/29/2014
  • Yonder Mountain moves ahead with YMSB 2.0 following Austin’s depart
  • The Breeders get set to debut new material on the road
  • Former Black Crowe Marc Ford Releases Newest Solo Effort ‘Holy Ghost’
  • Tera Melos latest ‘X’ed Out’ Infuses Pop Sensibilities With Experimental Rock