AEG Live's Chuck Morris announces Mile High Music Festival Line-up



By Brian F. Johnson

Chuck Morris is The Great Uniter of Denver.

On March 18, at a chilly but sun-drenched press conference in Commerce City, Morris pulled together the City and State’s heavy hitters to officially announce his plans for this summer’s Mile High Music Festival, presented by SanDisk Mobile, which will be held July 19 and 20 at Dicks Sporting Goods Park.

Morris’s line-up is as huge as the 50,000-plus capacity venue, with acts ranging from headliners Dave Matthews Band, Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, John Mayer and the Black Crowes to Spoon, Flogging Molly and the Roots, among others (see full line-up below), but what was really impressive was the support that Morris has garnered for the event.


Chuck Morris (left) and Gov. Bill Ritter at the March 18th press
conference to announce the line-up for the inaugural Mile High Music
Festival. Gov. Ritter, called Morris a "hero."
- Photo by Soren McCarty/

Gov. Bill Ritter called Morris a “hero” for his efforts and Ritter, along with representatives from both Denver and Commerce City’s Mayor’s office, Congressmen and council members all touted the events as an economic bright spot for the region and the neighborhood.

Countless references were made to other high-line festivals such as Austin City Limits, Bonnaroo, Coachella and Lollapalooza, and Morris said that this inaugural year will set the stage for what he hopes to be an annual event for the next 20 years or more.

Tickets for “Colorado’s Biggest Ever Music Festival” go on sale Saturday, March 29 at 10 a.m. at or, by phone at 866.461.6556 and the venue’s box office.

The line-up for Mile High Music Festival is currently as follows (not in order of appearance. Additional artists are expected to be announced at a later date).

Saturday, July 19 –

* Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers
* Steve Winwood
* Michael Franti & Spearhead
* O.A.R. (Of A Revolution)
* Spoon
* moe.
* Citizen Cope
* Brett Dennen
* Newton Faulkner
* Andrew Bird
* Josh Ritter
* State Radio
* JJ Grey & Mofro
* Bob Schneider
* Meese
* Born in the Flood
* Railbenders

Sunday, July 20 –

* Dave Matthews Band
* John Mayer
* The Black Crowes
* Rodrigo y Gabriela
* Colbie Caillat
* Ingrid Michaelson
* OneRepublic
* Flogging Molly
* The Roots
* Leftover Salmon
* Martin Sexton
* Flobots
* Grace Potter & The Nocturnals
* Tea Leaf Green
* Rose Hill Drive
* The New Mastersounds
* Serena Ryder
* The Photo Atlas
* and more to come!

Cool, Share this article:


  1. What! No Radiohead!!! Looks like a fine line-up but I am waiting for the additional annoucements and hoping that they up the ante a bit.

  2. I think for first year, this is a fine lineup. Colorado has needed a major summer music festival and this looks to compete with many others on the national market.

    Radiohead would have been very nice. 🙂